St. Luke's Day School
The Rev. Donald R. Perschall, Rector
Father Don is a native of Central Illinois. He has been Rector of St. Luke’s since January 2011. He has served parishes in Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Texas and Missouri before coming to Denison. His past experience also includes serving as: Canon Missioner, Regional Dean/Convocation Chair, Diocesan and Provincial Examining Chaplain, Cathedral Dean, Deputy to Provincial and General Conventions, and Canon to the Ordinary. He and his wife Andrea have four daughters, two sons, and ten grandchildren.
In his words, “There is nothing more essential than our need to have a personal living relationship with Jesus – to be formed daily into the likeness of Christ. It is in Jesus that we find definition, shape and form for our lives – influencing everything we think, say and do."
Built in 1876, St. Luke's Episcopal Church, located at the corner of Woodard and Fannin, was incorporated into the parish's building. Escaping early fires and storms that beset some of the other early structures and houses of worship, this structure survives as Denison's oldest church. The school was added in 1959 and has been serving students ever since.